Home » Bangladesh Affairs » The Administrative Division of Bangladesh


The Administrative Division of Bangladesh


Bangladesh is divided into 7 administrative divisions. These include: Dhaka, Chittagong, Rajshahi, Khulna, Barisal, Sylhet and Khulna. Each section includes a number of districts. 64 districts of Bangladesh. Smaller than District in the administrative region called the police station. The total police station (Thana) of Bangladesh is 489. This police stations are divided are 4,484 unions, 59,990 Mouzas, 87,319 villages. Division, district and thana level administration is not an elected official; The region is conducted under the government-appointed administrators. In the presence of elected union or municipality ward. 1997 AD, in accordance with the laws of the union at the 5 per cent seats for women are stored. The urban areas, 11 City corporations (Dhaka North, Dhaka-South, Chittagong, Khulna, Rajshahi, Khulna, Sylhet, Barisal, Narayanganj, Dhaka and Comilla) and of 3. There are municipalities. In all these mayors and representatives are selected by the people. The largest city is the capital of Bangladesh. Other major cities include – Chittagong, Rajshahi, Khulna, Sylhet, Barisal, Cox, Comilla, Mymensingh, Rajshahi, Jessore, Tongi, Gazipur, Narayanganj.

Tags: , , , , ,

Bangladesh Update »

A.Z.M. Enayetullah Khan

A.Z.M. Enayetullah Khan

A.Z.M. Enayetullah Khan (25 May 1939 – 10 November 2005) was a veteran journalist, former minister of Bangladesh. He founded the weekly newspaper Holiday and the...

Badruddoza Chowdhury

A. Q. M. Badruddoza Chowdhury

Abdul Qasim Mohammad Badruddoza Chowdhury is a Bangladeshi politician who served as President of Bangladesh, serving from 14 November 2001 until his resignation...

Shamsher Mobin Chowdhury

Shamsher Mobin Chowdhury

Shamsher Mobin Chowdhury, BB, Bir Bikrom is a Bangladeshi diplomat and served as the Foreign Secretary of MInistry of Foreign Affairs from October 2001 to March...