Home » Bangladesh Affairs » Presidential Palace of Bangladesh (Banga Bhaban)


Presidential Palace of Bangladesh (Banga Bhaban)


Banga Bhaban is the president house of Bangladesh. This is also principle workplace of President. It’s located in capital of Dhaka. Before independent of Bangladesh it was a governor house of East Pakistan from 1947 to 1971. From 1971 it was establish the official house of Bangladesh President. The Governor House was renamed as Bangabhaban on 12 January 1972, when Justice Abu Sayeed Choudhury became the first constitutional President of the country. The archaeological importance of Banga Bhaban is very sensitive and very much important. The floor-space of the ground floor is 6,700 sqm. The President’s residence is on the north-east corner, comprising two storeys. In addition, the Bangabhaban also has a visitors’ lounge area, banquet hall, a dining hall, cabinet room, auditorium and a court hall. The grounds surrounding Bangabhaban contain a mosque, canteen, post office and tailoring shop, staff and security quarters. Bangabhaban will continue to play a vital role in the future of the country, as it has in the past.

Banga Bhaban

Banga Bhaban

History : From the begin Nawab Khwaja Abdul Ghani bought this area and built a bungalow there, which he named as Dilkusha Garden. The partition of Bengal in 1905, the government of East Bengal and Assam bought the site and constructed a palatial house & temporary residence for the Viceroy of India until 1911. February 14 in 1906, the first lieutenant governor of the province of Eastern Bengal and Assam, Sir Joseph Bamfylde Fuller, started his official work at the Darbar Hall of the Bangabhaban.

From 1911 to 1947, the palace was called the Governor House, and served as the residence of the governor of Bengal. Following the independence of Pakistan and India in 1947, the palace became the residence of the governor of East Pakistan.

The building was severely damaged by a storm in 1961; substantial reconstruction was completed by 1964.

The official website of Banga Bhaban : http://www.bangabhaban.gov.bd/

Tags: , ,

Bangladesh Update »

Anika kabir shokh

Anika Kabir Shokh

Anika Kabir Shokh is an actress, dancer and model in Bangladesh. Shokh started her modeling career in Shakkhor in year 2002. She started acting on TV in year 2009...

Tajuddin Ahmed

Tajuddin Ahmad

Ahmad, Tajuddin (1925-1975) lawyer, politician, and the first Prime Minister of Bangladesh. Tajuddin Ahmad was born on 23 July 1925 at village Dardaria in Kapasia...

General Mustafizur Rahman

General Mustafizur Rahman

Mustafizur Rahman is a Bangladeshi Army officer who served as the Chief of Army Staff of the Bangladesh Army from 24 December 1997 – 23 December 2000. Mustafizur...