Home » Bangladesh Affairs » Political parties in Bangladesh


Political parties in Bangladesh


Bangladesh has a fading two-party system, which means that there are two dominant political parties, with extreme difficulty for anybody to achieve electoral success under the banner of another party.

However, though the center-left Awami League (AL) and center-right Bangladesh Nationalist Party (BNP) dominated Bangladesh politics for a long time, currently both are heading coalitions of like-minded parties with the AL leading the secular and liberal elements while BNP is rallying the right-of-centre parties.

=>> 14 Party Alliance
=>> 20 Party Alliance
=>> Jatio Oikko Front
=>> Left Democratic Alliance
=>> Combined National Alliance

Major parties:
=>> Bangladesh Awami League
=>> Bangladesh Nationalist Party
=>> Jatiya Party (Ershad)
=>> Bangladesh Jamaat-e-Islami

Minor parties:
=>> Bangladesh Islami Front
=>> Bangladesh Minority Janata Party
=>> Liberal Democratic Party (Bangladesh)
=>> Jatiya Party (Manju)
=>> Communist Party of Bangladesh (Marxist–Leninist) (Barua)
=>> Krishak Sramik Janata League
=>> Communist Party of Bangladesh
=>> National Awami Party
=>> Workers Party of Bangladesh
=>> Bikalpa Dhara Bangladesh
=>> Jatiya Samajtantrik Dal
=>> Jatiya Samajtantrik Dal-JSD
=>> Bangladesh Jatiya Party – BJP
=>> Bangladesh Khilafat Andolan
=>> Gano Forum
=>> Bangladesh Kalyan Party
=>> Bangladesh Jatiya Party
=>> Islamic Front Bangladesh
=>> Islami Oikya Jote
=>> Bangladesh Khelafat Majlish
=>> Islami Andolan Bangladesh
=>> Progressive Democratic Party
=>> Zaker Party
=>> Freedom Party (Bangladesh)
=>> Bangladesh Janakallyan Party(BJKP)(Bangladesh)
=>> Bangladesh Muslim League
=>> Bangladesh Nationalist Front
=>> Bangladesh Tarikat Federation
=>> National Peoples Party
=>> Bangladesh Samajtantrik Dal-BSD
=>> Bangladesh Gonotantrik Andolon
=>> National Democratic Party
=>> Revolutionary Workers Pary
=>> Islami somaz andolan
=>> National Movement
=>> Bangladesh Nagorik Oikko
=>> Ganosonghoti Andolon

Regional parties:
=>> Parbatya Chattagram Jana Sanghati Samiti
=>> United People’s Democratic Front

Bangladesh Update »

A.Z.M. Enayetullah Khan

A.Z.M. Enayetullah Khan

A.Z.M. Enayetullah Khan (25 May 1939 – 10 November 2005) was a veteran journalist, former minister of Bangladesh. He founded the weekly newspaper Holiday and the...

Badruddoza Chowdhury

A. Q. M. Badruddoza Chowdhury

Abdul Qasim Mohammad Badruddoza Chowdhury is a Bangladeshi politician who served as President of Bangladesh, serving from 14 November 2001 until his resignation...

Shamsher Mobin Chowdhury

Shamsher Mobin Chowdhury

Shamsher Mobin Chowdhury, BB, Bir Bikrom is a Bangladeshi diplomat and served as the Foreign Secretary of MInistry of Foreign Affairs from October 2001 to March...