Home » Bangladesh Affairs » Naogaon District


Naogaon District


Naogaon District (rajshahi division) area 3435.67 sq km, located in between 24°32′ and 25°13′ north latitudes and in between 88°23′ and 89°10′ east longitudes. It is bounded by west bengal state of India on the north, natore and rajshahi districts on the south, joypurhat, bogra and Natore districts on the east, nawabganj district on the west.

Population Total 2391355; male 1228253, female 1163102; Muslim 2062616, Hindu 256596, Buddhist 14313, Christian 336 and others 57494. Indigenous communities such as santal, oraon, munda belong to this upazila.

Water bodies Main rivers: atrai, punarbhaba, little jamuna, nagar, Shib; chalan beel is notable.

Administration Naogaon Sub-division, under Rajshahi district, was established in 1877 and was turned into a district in 1984. Municipality was formed in 1963. Of the eleven upazilas of the district niamatpur is the largest (449.10. sq km, it occupies 13.07% of the total area of the district) and badalgachhi is the smallest upazila (213.98 sq km).

Area (sq km) Upazila Municipality Union Mouza Village Population Density (per sq km) Literacy rate (%)
Urban Rural
3435.67 11 2 99 2565 2799 222576 2168779 696 44.4
Others Information of District
Name of Upazila Area
(sq km)
Municipality Union Mouza Village Population Density
(per sq km)
Literacy rate (%)
Atrai 284.41 8 155 201 179799 632 41.8
Dhamoirhat 300.80 8 212 260 169693 564 47.9
Niamatpur 449.10 8 317 341 226614 505 41.1
Patnitala 382.39 1 11 297 292 209440 108 49.8
Porsha 252.83 6 155 253 121809 482 35.6
Badalgachhi 213.98 8 247 237 186058 107 45.2
Mahadebpur 397.67 10 307 302 265763 668 45.3
Manda 375.94 14 299 291 352560 938 40.7
Naogaon Sadar 275.73 1 12 237 215 354570 1286 48.2
Raninagar 258.33 8 188 173 181196 701 47.7
Sapahar 244.49 6 151 234 143853 588 40.4

Source Bangladesh Population Census 2001, Bangladesh Bureau of Statistics.

History of the War of Liberation In 1971, the headquarters of the Wing 7 of the EPR was in Noagaon. In April the Pak army conducted surprise attacks on the villages Bhabicha and Niamatpur of Niamatpur upazila and killed a number of innocent people. They also conducted plundering and set many houses of these villages on fire. Eleven freedom fighters including Dewan Azizur Rahman and ANM Salek Chowdhury raided the Niamatpur Police Station in which 6 razakars surrendered with their arms and ammunitions. On 24 April the Pak army killed 78 innocent persons of village Ataikula under Raninagar upazila. In August 1971 the Pak army killed 128 persons at village Pakuria of Bharso union under Manda upazila and buried them in a mass grave. On 14 August, the freedom fighters of Sapahar upazila destroyed a Pak military vehicle by dynamite explosion on the Hapania Road; they also killed 5 Pak soldiers. In retaliation, the agitated Pak army indiscriminately killed many people of Hapania and the nearby villages. A battle between the freedom fighters and the Pakistan army was fought in village Bandaikhara on 19 September 1971 in which a number of freedom fighters were killed. On 15 October an encounter was held between the freedom fighters and the Pak army at Kola Bhandar of Badalgachhi upazila in which many Pak soldiers were killed and so were two freedom fighters. The Pak army brutally killed 11 persons of village Mohanpur under this upazila. The Pak army conducted mass killing under the Nitpur Baliachanda Bridge, on the eastern side of Shisha bazar and on the southern side of Ganguria College of Porsha upazila. They killed many people of villages Kola, Bhandarpur, Mithapur, Balubhara; they also set many houses of these areas on fire. The Pak army conducted mass killing at village Paharpur under Noagaon sadar upazila. They burnt 14 innocent persons to death at village Kulfatpur of Dhamoirhat upazila. A battle was fought between the freedom fighters and the Pak army at Mahisantosh of this upazila in which 25 Pak soldiers were killed and so were two freedom fighters. Direct encounters between the Pak army and the freedom fighters were held at Piral Danga, Gangra, Kulfatpur and Rangamati with heavy casualty on both sides. Besides, one freedom fighter was killed in an encounter with the Pak army at Agradhigun.

Marks of the War of Liberation Mass grave 19; mass killing site 7, liberation sculpture 3, memorial monument 1.

Literacy rate and educational institutions Average literacy 44.4%; male 49.4%, female 39.1%. Educational institutions: college 45, technical college 10, secondary school 584, primary school 1342, community school 22, kindergarten 23, madrasa 244. Noted educational institutions: Dhamoirhat MM Degree College (1970), Manda Momin Shahana Degree College (1970), Niamatpur Degree College (1980), Naogaon Government College (1962), Mahadebpur Government College (1967), Molla Azad Memorial College (1968), Naogaon Government BMC Mohila College (1972), Sher-e- Bangla College (1972), Badalgachhi Government College (1972), Sapahar Government College (1973), Dubalhati Raja Haranath High School (1864), Nagar Kusumba Multilateral High School (1882), Naogaon KD Government High School (1884), Mainam Multilateral High School (1895), Bhimpur Multilateral High School (1901), Dhamoirhat Sofiya Pilot High School (1904), Naogaon PM Girls’ High School (1909), Manda SC Pilot High School (1910), Kamta SN High School (1913), Ratoal RN High School (1913), Hamidpur Jigatala High School (1913), Chakla Multilateral High School (1914), Chak Athitha High School (1914), Balubhara RB High School (1914), Naogaon Zila School (1917), Kirtipur Multilateral High School (1921), Mahadebpur’ Sarbamangla High School (1921), Katabari High School (1924), Jontigram TA High School (1926), Naogaon Central Girls’ High School (1926), Khottapara ML High School (1929), Porsha High Madrasa cum High School (1927), Namazgar Gausul Azam Kamil Madrasa (1951), Naogaon Islamia Fazil Madrasa (1962), Nazipur Siddiqia Fazil Madrasa (1969), Dhamoirhat Siddiqia Fazil Madrasa (1974).

Main sources of income Agriculture 74.29%, non-agricultural labourer 2.45%, industry 1.03%, commerce 9.89%, transport and communication 2.74%, service 4.05%, construction 0.70%, religious service 0.12%, rent and remittance 0.21% and others 4.52%.

Newspapers and periodicals Daily: Joybangla, Ishtehar, Alokbarta; weekly;’ Bangabani, Barendra Batra, Naba Batra, Banglar Kantha, Desher Bani, Banka Chand, Nabayug, Ei Shomoy; fortnightly: Suryamukhi; monthly: Nabadiganta. Besides, every year the district administration publishes an annual magazine on the occasion of the birth anniversary of Rabindranath Tagore on 25 Baishakh.

Folk culture Notable folk culture include folk music: Palligeeti, Murshidi, Bhatiali and Meyeli geet (songs sung by women); folk festivals: Bangla Nababarsha or Pahela Baishakh (Bangla new year’s day), Charakpuja, Nabanna, Halkhata, Berabashan; folk games: Ha-du-du, Boat Race, Dariabandha, Lathi Khela (stick game).

Tourists spots Paharpur Buddhist Vihara and Halud Vihara (Badalgachhi), Jagaddal Vihara, Alta Dighi (Mahadebpur), Dibor Dighi (Patnitala), Mahadebpur Rajbari (Mahadebpur), Kashimpur Rajbari and’ Balihar Rajbari (Naogaon Sadar), Kusumba Mosque, Paikbanda Salban (Atrai and Patnitala upazilas).

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Bangladesh Update »

A.Z.M. Enayetullah Khan

A.Z.M. Enayetullah Khan

A.Z.M. Enayetullah Khan (25 May 1939 – 10 November 2005) was a veteran journalist, former minister of Bangladesh. He founded the weekly newspaper Holiday and the...

Badruddoza Chowdhury

A. Q. M. Badruddoza Chowdhury

Abdul Qasim Mohammad Badruddoza Chowdhury is a Bangladeshi politician who served as President of Bangladesh, serving from 14 November 2001 until his resignation...

Shamsher Mobin Chowdhury

Shamsher Mobin Chowdhury

Shamsher Mobin Chowdhury, BB, Bir Bikrom is a Bangladeshi diplomat and served as the Foreign Secretary of MInistry of Foreign Affairs from October 2001 to March...