Home » Latest News » Politics » Jatiya Oikyafront’s talks with AL ends


Jatiya Oikyafront’s talks with AL ends


Bangladesh Update »

Opsonin Pharma Limited

Opsonin Pharma Limited

Opsonin Pharma Limited is a pharmaceutical company in Bangladesh which was established in 1956. Opsonin Pharma Limited is the 4th largest pharmaceutical company...

Beximco Pharmaceuticals Ltd.

Beximco Pharmaceuticals Ltd.

Beximco Pharmaceuticals Ltd (Beximco Pharma) is a leading manufacturer and exporter of medicines in Bangladesh. Beximco Pharmaceuticals Limited founded in 1976 and...


Top 10 Pharmaceutical Companies in Bangladesh 2018

Depending on the annual performance through the year 2017, top 10 pharmaceutical companies in Bangladesh are- 1. Square Pharmaceuticals Ltd. 2. Incepta Pharmaceuticals...

Rohingya repatriation process halted

Rohingya repatriation process halted

Scheduled Rohingya repatriation did not take place on Thursday as Rohingyas are unwilling to go back to their home. “The Rohingya repatriation has been halted...


The much-hyped dialogue between ruling Awami League-led 14-party and newly formed Jatiya Oikya Front alliance has ended.

The talks began at 7:00pm at the Ganabhaban on Thursday and lasted for over three and a half hours, reports bdnews24.com

Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina sat with the Oikya Front delegation ahead of the 11th parliamentary elections.

The 21-strong delegation led by Dr Kamal, chief of the new political alliance, arrived for the talks around 6.45pm.

Awami League chief Hasina, who led a 14-party coalition team of 23, entered the meeting room at 6.57pm.

Public health activist Zafrullah Chowdhury, a sponsor of the Oikya Front, was the first to leave the dialogue at 10:40pm.

UNB adds: Talking to reporters outside the meeting room while leaving Ganobhaban, Dr Kamal said the discussion went well.

Through the talks with the Oikyafront, the Prime Minister opened her door of discussions over the 11th parliamentary polls before the announcement of its schedule as Bikolpo Dhara Bangladesh, Jatiya Party and some other parties and alliances are interested in dialogue with the Prime Minister.

Political analysts think the dialogue will not only determine the mode of the next general election, but also the country’s future politics. They also think the success of the talks depends on sincerity and liberal stance of both the ruling and opposition sides on their current positions.

Awami League announced the names of the 14-party’s 23 delegation members through a press release signed by party office secretary Abdus Sobhan Golap.

Of them, 19 leaders, including the Prime Minister, were from Awami League while four others from its alliance partners.

The other AL leaders were Obaidul Quader, Amir Hossain Amu, Tofail Ahmed, Matia Chowdhury, Fazlul Karim Selim, Mohammad Nasim, Abdur Razzak, Kazi Zafar Ullah, Abdul Matin Khosru, Ramesh Chandra Sen, Advocate Anisul Huq, Mahbubul Alam Hanif, Dr Dipu Moni, Jahangir Kabir Nanonk, Abdur Rahman, Abdus Sobhan Golap, Dr Hasan Mahmud and SM Rezaul Karim.

The four 14-party leaders were Samyabadi Dal leader Dilip Barua, leader of Workers Party of Bangladesh Rashed Khan Menon, Jatiya Samajtantrik Dal leader (JSD) Hasanul Huq Inu and JSD-faction leader Moinuddin Khan Badal.

On Tuesday night, Jatiya Oikyafront sent the names of its 16-member delegation, led by Dr Kamal Hossain, to Awami League for the talks. The names of the last five delegation members were added on Thursday, raising it to 21.

However, BNP leader Gayeshwar Chandra Roy did not attend the dialogue.

The other Oikyafront delegation members were BNP secretary general Mirza Fakhrul Islam Alamgir, standing committee members Khandaker Mosharraf Hossain, Moudud Ahmed, Jamiruddin Sircar, Mirza Abbas, JSD president ASM Abdur Rob, vice president Tania Rob, general secretary Abdul Malek Ratan, Nagorik Oikya’s Mahmudur Rahman Manna and SM Akarm, Gono Forum general secretary Mostafa Mohsin Montu, executive president Subrata Chowdhury, Jatiya Oiky Prokriya’s Sultan Mohammad Mansur Ahmed, ABM Mostafa Amin, Gonoshasthya Kendra founder Dr Zafrullah Chowdhury, BNP standing committee members Dr Abdul Moyeem Khan, Gano Forum leaders Mokabbir Khan, Jaglul Haider Afrik and AHM Shafiq Ullah.

In favour of Jatiya Oikyafront, Dr Kamal Hossain on Sunday sent a letter to Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina seeking dialogue over the national election.

In response to it, Sheikh Hasina sent a letter to Dr Kamal on Tuesday morning and invited Oikyafront leaders to join the dialogue.

On October 13, BNP together with Dr Kamal Hossain-led Jatiya Oikya Prokriya, JSD and Nagorik Oikya launched the Jatiy Oikyafront to press for their seven-point demand.

The Oikyafront’s seven-point demand includes installation of a neutral interim government, dissolution of parliament, reconstitution the Election Commission, release of all the political prisoners, deployment of army and cancellation of the move to use Electronic Voting Machines (EVMS) for holding the next polls in fair and acceptable manner. Source: observerbd.com

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Bangladesh Update »

A.Z.M. Enayetullah Khan

A.Z.M. Enayetullah Khan

A.Z.M. Enayetullah Khan (25 May 1939 – 10 November 2005) was a veteran journalist, former minister of Bangladesh. He founded the weekly newspaper Holiday and the...

Badruddoza Chowdhury

A. Q. M. Badruddoza Chowdhury

Abdul Qasim Mohammad Badruddoza Chowdhury is a Bangladeshi politician who served as President of Bangladesh, serving from 14 November 2001 until his resignation...

Shamsher Mobin Chowdhury

Shamsher Mobin Chowdhury

Shamsher Mobin Chowdhury, BB, Bir Bikrom is a Bangladeshi diplomat and served as the Foreign Secretary of MInistry of Foreign Affairs from October 2001 to March...