Home » Latest News » Entertainment » Dallywood » Farooki on APSA Jury board


Farooki on APSA Jury board

Mostofa Sarwar Farooki

Mostofa Sarwar Farooki

Mostofa Sarwar Farooki has become the first Bangladeshi to take the juror’s position at the Asia Pacific Film Awards, to be held next month in Brisbane, Australia. He will be joined on the board by Chinese academic Zhang Xianmin, Malaysian filmmaker U-Wei Bin Hajisaari, Russian writer-director Alexei Popogrebsky and Iranian actress Negar Javaherian, and the jury will be headed by co-founder of the Busan Film Festival, Kim Dong-ho.

Farooki was in attendance with Kim Dong-ho when the announcement of the jury was made, at the ongoing 20th Busan Film Festival in Busan, South Korea. Nominations for the APSA UNESCO Award — for outstanding contribution to the promotion and preservation of the cultural diversity – were also announced there.

Farooki later posted on Facebook saying he was happy and scared at the same time, to be invited to take a jury position which was filled in the past by the likes of Asghar Farhadi, Shyam Benegal, Jafar Panahi, Shabana Azmi and David Putnam. Saying he was excited to be representing Bangladesh at such a big platform, he said it would be challenging to select the best films from Asia Pacific in the last year.

Tags: , , ,

Bangladesh Update »

Anika kabir shokh

Anika Kabir Shokh

Anika Kabir Shokh is an actress, dancer and model in Bangladesh. Shokh started her modeling career in Shakkhor in year 2002. She started acting on TV in year 2009...

Tajuddin Ahmed

Tajuddin Ahmad

Ahmad, Tajuddin (1925-1975) lawyer, politician, and the first Prime Minister of Bangladesh. Tajuddin Ahmad was born on 23 July 1925 at village Dardaria in Kapasia...

General Mustafizur Rahman

General Mustafizur Rahman

Mustafizur Rahman is a Bangladeshi Army officer who served as the Chief of Army Staff of the Bangladesh Army from 24 December 1997 – 23 December 2000. Mustafizur...