Home »




About Bangladesh

Bangladesh is a country in south Asia. The official name of Bangladesh is People’s Republic of Bangladesh. Previous name East Pakistan. The total area of this country is 147,000 sq km. Bangladesh is a parliamentary republic with elected parliament called Jatiyo Shanshad. Bangladesh The total populations are more than 16 croups (160 million) and Bangladesh is on most density populated country in the world. Maximum Bangladeshi’s are Muslim; Muslims are 89%, other religion Hinduism 9%, Buddhism 1% and Christians 0.5%. In 1971 Bangladesh get independence from Pakistan by a long time (9 month long) liberation war. Finally 16th December of 1971 Pakistan solders surrender to Bangladesh and Bangladesh start a new independent country in the world.

The first president of Bangladesh is Sheikh Mujibor Rahaman, he is the father of the nation of Bangladesh.

Dhaka is the capital of Bangladesh. The official language is Bangle. There are three national important day has Bangladesh, 21st February (Mother Language Day) this is international mother language day, in 1952, 21st of February Bangladeshi people’s are fight with Pakistani army for mother language, 26th March (Independent Day) the liberation war of Bangladesh was start from this day and 16th December (Victory Day) end of the day of liberation war and Bangladesh get independency. Bangladesh is largest historical country of world.

Total Bangladesh is divided 7 divisions, Dhaka (Capital of Bangladesh), Chittagong, Rajshahi, Barisal, Sylhet, Khulna, Rangpur. Divisions are subdivided into District, and District are subdivided into Thana. Bangladesh has 64 districts now.

The local currency of Bangladesh is Taka(BDT).

Government : Unitary Parliamentary Democracy

National Days : National Martyrs Day (February 21), Independence Day (March 26), Victory Day (December 16).


Official Name The People’s Republic Of Bangladesh.
Capital Dhaka
Official Language Bengali
Other Language English and some other minority people language.
Ethnic Groups 98% are Bengali, 2% Other
Demonism Bangladeshi
Currency Taka (BDT), Paper notes are 1, 2, 5, 10, 20, 50, 100, 500 and 1000 Taka, Coins are of 1, 2, 5, Poisha (100 Poisha = 1 Taka)
Religions Muslim 88.3%, Hindu 10.5%, others 1.2%.
Location Latitude from 20 degree 34′ to 26 degree 38′ north. Longitude from 88 degree 01′ to 92 degree 41′ east.
Area Total: 147,570 sq km., Land: 138,125 sq km., Water: 9,445 sq km.
Government Unitary Parliamentary Democracy
President Abdul Hamid
Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina
Speaker of Parliament Shirin Sharmin Choudhury
Opposition Party chief Begum Khaleda Zia
National Days National Martyrs Day (February 21)
Independence Day (March 26)
Victory Day (December 16)
Principal Rivers Padma, Meghna, Jamuna, Brahmaputra, Karnafuli, Gumti, Madhumati, Surma, Kushiara etc
Principal Crops Rice, jute, tobacco, tea, sugarcane, vegetables, potato, pulses etc.
Population March 2013 (Estimate): 150,039,000
Population Density 1,033.5/sq km.
Time Zone BST (UTC +6)
Calling Coad 880
ISO 3166 Coad BD
Internet TLD .BD
Sea Ports Chittagong, Mongla
Fruits Mango, banana, pineapple, jack-fruit, water-melon, green coconut, guava, litchis, etc.

Bangladesh is a densely populated country in South Asia, the official name of the People’s Republic of Bangladesh. The western, northern and eastern borders of India, south-east of the border with Myanmar, and the Bay of Bengal to the south coast. Geographically located in a fertile delta of Bangladesh. Significant, Bangladesh and neighboring Indian states of West Bengal and Tripura together in a continuous linguistic region of Bengal and Bengali ethnic composition named “Banga” or “Bangla”. Bengal, the eastern continuation of the history of Eastern Bengali Bangladesh named individual was established as a modern nation state.

The eighth most populous country in the world, though the size of the list, as well as Bangladesh, Bangladesh ranked 94th in the world; Bangladesh is the world’s most densely populated countries as a result of the ninth. This small country of less than 56 square miles of the current population of more than 16 core, square miles of the settlements of 2497.

Bangladesh is divided into seven divisions. Divisions are Dhaka, Chittagong, Rajshahi, Khulna, Barisal, Sylhet and Rangpur. All divisions are subdivided into districts. There are 64 districts in Bangladesh. The capital and largest city is Dhaka. Bangladesh has 10 City Corporations, there are Dhaka South, Dhaka North, Chittagong, Khulna, Sylhet, Rajshahi, Barisal, Rangpur, Comilla and Gazipur.