Home » Latest News » Politics » 3 killed in AL factional clash in Narsingdi


3 killed in AL factional clash in Narsingdi


At least three people were killed and 100 others injured in a factional clash of ruling Awami League over establishing supremacy in Nilakkha union of Raipura upazila of Narsingdi on Friday.

Two of the deceased were identified as Sohagh Miah and Maram Ali, reports UNB.

Zakir Hasan, additional superintendent of police, said former union parishad chairman and former Raipura upazila AL vice-president Abdul Haque and present union parishad chairman and union AL president Tajul Islam had long been at loggerheads over controlling the local affairs.

As a consequence of the previous enmity, the supporters of both the AL leaders locked into a clash around 3pm.

Equipped with firearms and fishing spears (teta), they attacked each other, leaving three people dead on the spot and 100 others injured.

On information, police rushed in and tried to bring the situation under control.

However, sporadic clashes continued till filing of this report around 8pm.

The injured were taken to different hospitals, said Mohsin Alam, officer-in-charge of Raipur Police Station.

He also said additional policemen were called in to bring the situation under control.

Earlier, a Secondary School Certificate (SSC) examinee was shot dead during a clash between two AL groups at Bashgari of the upazila in the early hours.

The deceased was identified as Tofazzal Hossain Rana, son of local Abdullah Fakir.

The OC said supporters of former Bashgari union parishad chairman and ex-union AL president Shahed Sarkar and current chairman Sirajul Haque, also an AL leader, attacked one other, and exchanged gunfire from around 9 pm till midnight on Thursday.

After a short interval, they again exchanged gunfire early Friday.

Tofazzel, who came out of his home to defecate, sustained bullet injuries to the head around 6 am during the gunfight.

Later, he died on the way to Narsingdi hospital. Source: observerbd

Bangladesh Update »

A.Z.M. Enayetullah Khan

A.Z.M. Enayetullah Khan

A.Z.M. Enayetullah Khan (25 May 1939 – 10 November 2005) was a veteran journalist, former minister of Bangladesh. He founded the weekly newspaper Holiday and the...

Badruddoza Chowdhury

A. Q. M. Badruddoza Chowdhury

Abdul Qasim Mohammad Badruddoza Chowdhury is a Bangladeshi politician who served as President of Bangladesh, serving from 14 November 2001 until his resignation...

Shamsher Mobin Chowdhury

Shamsher Mobin Chowdhury

Shamsher Mobin Chowdhury, BB, Bir Bikrom is a Bangladeshi diplomat and served as the Foreign Secretary of MInistry of Foreign Affairs from October 2001 to March...